Home » Operating System » Ubuntu 11.04 Codenamed ‘Natty Narwhal’ Release Schedule

Ubuntu 11.04 Codenamed ‘Natty Narwhal’ Release Schedule


Mark Shuttleworth has just announced the codename of the next Ubuntu release after Maverick. Ubuntu 11.04 will be called Natty Narwhal. The name follows the usual Ubuntu naming tradition of the codename consisting of an adjective and a name of an animal starting with the same letter, and following an alphabetic order. Continue reading to know more about the Narwhal.

For Ubuntu 11.04 (Natty Narwhal), the Ubuntu developers decided to change the release schedule again, to 5 Alpha versions, a single Beta release, and a Release Candidate:

November 4th, 2010 – Alpha 1 release
December 2nd, 2010 – Alpha 2 release
January 6th, 2011 – Alpha 3 release
February 3rd, 2011 – Alpha 4 release
March 3rd, 2011 – Alpha 5 release
March 31st, 2011 – Beta release
April 21st, 2011 – Release Candidate
April 28th, 2011 – Final release of Ubuntu 11.04

As you can see, the work on Ubuntu 11.04 will start in one month after Ubuntu 10.10 (Maverick Meerkat) will be released, on October 10th.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.